Introduction to Tiffany Newman

December 13, 2021, Tiffany Newman

Hello there, my name is Tiffany. I am a wife, mother and work full time as a wildlife biologist for a large timber company. I have two beautiful boys, one is 2 years old, the other, 3 months old.  I was born in Washington and raised in Eugene, Oregon, went to college at Oregon State University (Go Beavs!). My career has taken me to four different states over the years, but I ultimately decided to settle in Albany six years ago.

While I am beginning this writing journey, I am on maternity leave. I truly love being home with my little ones and spending quality time with them. It really is amazing to see how the kids develop and how different each one is. My first baby was such a challenge for me, I struggled with the decision to have a planned c-section, and breastfeeding was nothing like I had expected. I tried to do everything “by the book” to ensure my child was healthy and happy. My second has been very different so far in so many ways. I am much more relaxed in my parenting with him, which has made me a very different mother.

I am constantly learning and developing with my children. They have made me a better person, taught me patience and how to adapt to constant changes. Every day is something new and exciting. Some days are challenging, some days are exciting, some days are just exhausting, but each day is amazing in its own way.  I hope to share some of my own stories with you, from things I have learned as a brand-new mom to a new mom of two.

Some fun facts about me:

  • In college, I was a wildland firefighter during the summers, and I absolutely loved it, which helped me decide to pursue wildlife biology (that and my love for animals).
  • I LOVE photography. I love to photograph pretty much anything from people to nature and landscapes.
  • Gardening is one of my favorite pastimes during the spring and summer. I have a wonderful large garden that I can take my kiddos out to, teach them, and let them get their hands dirty.
  • My husband and I love hiking and the outdoors.
  • Traveling (before the pandemic)